About Our Union

Every Local Union elects Regional Council delegates; according to the Regional Council bylaws, the number of delegates is proportional to the Local’s membership. Every elected delegate from every Local serves on one of five Regional Council committees.

Delegates and committees meet quarterly, and sometimes more often. They establish policies, priorities and goals for the Council. They also serve as the conduits of information and initiatives back and forth between members, Local Unions, Local Union committees, and the Council.

• Executive Committee/Financial Oversight Committee
This committee oversees Regional Council business. Every Local Union in the Council has one elected representative on the Executive Committee. The President, Vice President and Executive Secretary-Treasurer of the Regional Council serve on the Executive Committee, as do the Council’s three trustees. The trustees have supervision of all funds and properties of the Council, and audit all accounts.

• New Member Education Committee
Committee members work with the Directors of Education and the Joint Apprenticeship Training Committees to receive overview of curriculum and specialty training for our members. Curriculum is designed to meet the needs of Regional Council markets and the priorities of the Area Standards Committee. The committee also oversees education of new members in union principles and responsibilities.
Committee Chair: John Delaney

• Member Involvement Committee
Committee members discuss and share ideas and input regarding member retention/mentoring, newsletters and community involvement/volunteering. Members work to promote UBC programs, aim to share pertinent information regarding local business and activities to members, and promote community service and awareness of the Council as part of the community. Committee members strive to instill union pride in the membership.
Committee Chair: Richard Kolodziejski 

• Organizing  Committee
Committee members work with the Director of Resource Management to discuss strategic plans for Area Standards. Goals focus on recruiting new members and contractors, and increasing member work opportunities by retaining and expanding market share.
Committee Chair: Jesse Gregerson

• Political Committee
Committee members work to strengthen the union’s impact on legislative and electoral politics. This includes developing working relationships with political and community allies, developing strategies for effectively promoting our union’s objectives, and increasing the percentage of members who are registered to vote and who regularly participate in voting and related activities.
Committee Chair: Adam Duininck
Political Directors:
Felicia Hilton – Iowa, Nebraska, and South Dakota
Adam Duininck – Minnesota and North Dakota
Andrew Disch – Wisconsin